top of page

HOW TO: Become a porridge lover

When I was thinking about what my first blog post should be about, I didn't have to think for very long. I was all, "der, Lou. Porridge?!" And then it was settled.

If you know me, you know I have a serious love affair with porridge.

I haven't always loved it. Before my #fitspo #healthy days, I never used to have breakfast at all. If I did, it was either an Up & Go, a V energy drink (bad, I know. But it was the HSC days!) or coffee and some sort of baked good. Then I started to get a belly and I read that having breakfast is actually really important, especially for weightloss. Go figure, right?!

So, I started to have packet porridge for breakfast. It was the actual worst. I'm not even sorry. It was just horrible! So I looked up recipes for really good porridge, and before I knew it I was OBSESSED.

And here's why you should be too (if you aren't already!)

1. Porridge is just like a hug in a bowl

Don't believe me? Have some right now. You'll feel like a right muppet for not believing me!

2. It's so easy to make!

Some people are all, "Oh I don't have time to stand at the stove and make porridge in the morning!" Come on, you guys. It's simples! Soak your oats overnight and you've got the perfect porridge in no time at all! Plus, if you use boiling water, it makes it cook faster. You're welcome.

3. It's so gosh darned good for you

Did you know oats have a buttload of fibre and protein? It's true! Science says so. Half a cup of oats contains 4.1 grams of fibre and 13 grams of protein. Not convinced? You're a tough one to crack, unconvinced reader! Oats also lower cholesterol and contain magnesium, zinc AND vitamin E. I don't know about you, but that sounds like the package deal to me.

4. There are so many different ways to eat it

I'll admit it. Oats by themselves: not that great on the tastebuds. But guess what? Throw them in a pot with some water, almond milk, or even coconut milk if you're feeling frisky, and you're on your way to making them taste delish. You can make so many different types! Banana porridge with blueberry compote, apple and cinnamon porridge, carrot cake porridge, very berry porridge... I don't want to get carried away, but far out, you guys. The possibilities are endless! But wait, there's more. You can even shove stuff ON TOP of the porridge to make it EVEN MORE delicious. Nuts, more fruit, seeds, almond butter, peanut butter, honey, maple syrup, brown sugar... I'm drooling just thinking about it.

5. It keeps you full all morning

It's true! And I'm always hungry, so I wouldn't lie to you about this. You know the buttload amount of fibre in oats that I was talking about before? It keeps you full and satisfied for a good few hours. If you have steel cut oats, even longer!

6. Hugh Sheridan from Packed to the Rafters eats it for breakfast

I mean, do you need any other reason? I saw it on the Uncle Toby's ad, you guys. I'm not just saying it.

(Image: YouTube)

See?! Told you. That's Hugh Sheridan's hand. I promise!

7. Oats are super duper cheap

Yeah man. I'm talking $2 for a 1kg bag. Unless you get gluten-free oats, they're pretty expensive. But if you get the Coles or Woolies brand, they won't set you back much. And they'll last for ages! Each serve of porridge is either 1/3 of a cup or 1/2 cup of oats, depending on how hungry you are. You do the maths! Seriously, I'm not very good at it. But I do know that they'll last for ages.

8. You can take cute photos of it and impress the whole Instagram community

For real. I'm not vegan, but the #vegansofinstagram go crazy over well presented porridge. One time I even got triple digit likes on one of my photos. And it's not just the non-meat eaters. Everyone takes photos of their food these days! And I don't know about you, but I'm nosey. I like to know what people eat for breakfast. And I'll even fang your photo a like if it looks good. That's just the way the world works these days. What better reason to eat porridge than for #allofthelikes ?

9. You can make it in a slow cooker!

I'm not even joking. In fact, the best porridge I've ever made was in my slow cooker. It's delicious. All you have to do is shove a bunch of stuff in the slow cooker overnight, and you've got porridge for days. Literally!

This porridge is slow cooked apple cinnamon steel cut oats. It's so good, the first time I ate it I was saying "oooooft" inbetween mouthfuls. You can get the recipe here.

10. It's delicious

If I haven't convinced you yet, you're just stubborn. Porridge is terrific. Just eat it. I'm about to, and it's 4:30 in the afternoon! There's no wrong time for porridge, you guys. And don't let anyone tell you any different!

You might also like...

Lou's Little Kitchen

bottom of page